26 Annual Llew Evans Scholarship Golf Tournament

26 Annual Llew Evans Scholarship Golf Tournament

Published on: September 17, 2018

President Nancy P. Crimmin and tournament co-chairs John Graham and John Budd invite you to join us for the 26th Annual Llew Evans Scholarship Golf Tournament.

The D. Llewellyn Evans Scholarship is named for one of the most widely known and best-loved faculty members at Becker. Evans joined the faculty in 1912, leaving briefly to serve in World War I, and continued to serve the College in a variety of capacities until his death in 1966.

While at Becker, Evans established a journalism program in 1933 and taught the subject until 1962. He was the advisor to the award-winning student newspaper, the Becker Journal, from 1936 to 1962. Evans founded the Becker Alumni Association and continued to serve as its secretary even after his retirement from teaching. 

The scholarship fund, established in 1985 by his former students of the Class of 1935, is a tribute to Evans and his firm belief in the great value of student scholarships. It is in this spirit that alumni and friends of the College continue to contribute to the fund. This year, twenty-eight dedicated and deserving students have applied and received Evans scholarship funds. Your contribution to the D. Llewellyn Evans Scholarship helps us to continue to bring education, opportunity, and success to students who rely on this scholarship to attend Becker College.


Contact: Colleen Sullivan

Email: colleen.sullivan@becker.edu

Becker College is currently observing summer hours. Most of our offices are open Monday-Thursday 8:30 a.m.-4:00 p.m., and closed on Fridays. PLEASE NOTE: The Admissions Office is open on Fridays from 10 a.m.-3 p.m. on both campuses.