skip navigation

Past Presidents

Dr. Robert E Johnson Robert E. Johnson 2010-2017

Dr. Johnson oversaw 7 successful years at Becker. During his tenure, many Becker programs became highly ranked, new facilities were erected, the college gained reputation, enrollments grew, and new degrees were formed. Dr. Johnson took the Becker brand and put it on the national stage. He also introduced a new academic ethos, the Agile Mindset.

President’s Speaker Series



Kenneth ZirkleKenneth E. Zirkle 2004-2008

After 20 years as president of Findlay College in Ohio, Dr. Zirkle accepted the position of president of Becker. His educational experience started with the position of dean of students at Elizabethtown College in Pennsylvania and vice president of student affairs at SUNY-Cortland in New York.


Franklin M LoewFranklin M. Loew 1998-2003

Dr. Franklin Loew was the former dean of the Tufts University School of Veterinary Medicine, former dean of veterinary medicine at Cornell University, and former director of comparative medicine at Johns Hopkins. He left his position as president and CEO of Medical Foods, Inc. in Cambridge, Mass., to take the position of president of Becker College.


Arnold C Weller, JrArnold C. Weller, Jr. 1987-1998

Arnold C. Weller arrived at Becker in 1964 as a faculty member. He held the positions of dean and vice president before becoming president of the College in 1987. He was named chancellor of the college in 1998.


Lloyd H Van BuskirkLloyd H. Van Buskirk 1971-1987

Lloyd Van Buskirk came to Becker from Michigan, where he was the founding president of Kirtland Community College and a member of the administrative team that founded Oakland and Washtenaw Community Colleges. He was a graduate of General Motors Institute of Technology and held two degrees from Eastern Michigan University.


Thomas FlemingThomas F. Fleming 1970-1971

Thomas Fleming was named dean of the College in the mid-1950s. Following the college’s 75th anniversary, Dean Fleming gradually assumed day-to-day administrative leadership as President Lane’s eyesight continued to fail. After retiring as chancellor of the College in February 1970, Fleming was called back to take the position of president on November 24, 1970.


Donald HughesDonald C. Hughes 1970 (Jan. to Nov.)

Dr. Donald C. Hughes came to Becker in late 1969 after accepting the goals study directorship post, as president-elect.



Warren C LaneWarren C. Lane 1927-1970

Warren C. Lane, a graduate of Bowling Green College, came to Becker as a director in 1926, bringing with him a distinguished teaching record. When he became president of the College in 1927, changes were immediate. The school officially became Becker College of Business Administration and Secretarial Science, and the curriculum was based on a two-year, four-semester program.


Mary Charlotte BeckerMary Charlotte Becker 1907-1927

Mary Charlotte Becker assumed control of Becker Junior College after her husband’s death. She formed a corporation with herself as treasurer, son-in-law Walter S. Doud as president, and daughter Eva as clerk. Under her direction, the school prospered and high standards were enforced.


E.C.A. BeckerE. C. A. Becker 1887-1907

The son of John P. and Eva K. Becker was born in Peoria, Illinois, on April 30, 1855. After attending Peoria High School for two years, he moved to a farm and worked in agriculture for three years before returning to his hometown. He entered Cole’s Business College and graduated from both the business and telegraph departments. He moved to Worcester in 1882 and taught at the Hinman School until opening Becker’s Business College in 1887.

For more information about Closure Next Steps: Click here