Eight Colleges and Universities Announce Formation of The New England Athletic Conference

Published on Monday, June 4th, 2007

Eight colleges and universities from New England have formally announced the creation of a new athletic conference, which will be known as the New England Athletic Conference (NEAC). In 2008-09, the conference will be an officially recognized NCAA Division III member and will commence with regular season competition and championships in 11 sports.

Members of the New England Athletic Conference will include Bay Path College of Longmeadow, Mass., Becker College of Leicester, Mass., Daniel Webster College of Nashua, N.H., Elms College of Chicopee, Mass., Lesley University of Cambridge, Mass., Mitchell College of New London, Conn., Newbury College of Brookline, Mass., and Wheelock College of Boston, Mass.

"I am pleased to announce the creation of the New England Athletic Conference," said Louise McCleary, Elms College Director of Athletics, who will serve as Chair of the Athletic Director’s Council. "The formation of this conference brings together eight institutions that have much in common both athletically and academically."

Over the next year the conference plans to establish operational procedures, a marketing brand, a conference website and the creation of a commissioner’s office.


Established: May 31, 2007

First Year of Competition: 2008-09 Academic Year

Number of Schools: 8 (7 co-educational, 1 women’s only)

Championships sponsored: 11 – Men’s Basketball, Women’s Basketball, Men’s Cross Country, Women’s Cross Country, Men’s Golf, Men’s Soccer, Women’s Soccer, Softball, Men’s Tennis, Women’s Tennis, Women’s Volleyball.